Skip to Main Content

The Capital District Chapter of The College of Saint Rose Alumni Association began as the Greater Capital Area Chapter and was formed by the joining of two local alumni chapters from Albany and Troy. It began as a group administered by a steering committee, but in July of 1986, the first slate of officer’s was elected and the committee transformed into a working chapter. The first slate of officers included: Maureen Elliot ’80, President; Mary Fran Verostek ’82, Vice-President; Betsy Van Deusen ’84, Secretary; John Marsolais ’82, Treasurer; Mary Bee Longabaugh ’85, Recorder; Barbara Mohan ’54, Director; Rose Mary Murray ’45, Director; Cynthia Grande ’83, Director and Jane O’Brien ’46, Director. This group continued to operate for the next decade organizing social activities such as dinner theater events, ice cream socials, wine tours, SPAC events, and the Chapter’s annual dinner. The Chapter also supports various college functions like the scholarship fund, player of the game awards, donations to the Sister’s of St. Joseph homeless fund, and supporting Alumni Weekend activities.

In May of 1996, the name of the group was updated to its current title: The Capital District Chapter of the Saint Rose Alumni Association. The group continues to follow the framework established by the founding partners by offering social functions where alumni in the capital region can interact and network. In addition, the chapter continues to promote and support the college by offering a bi-annual Book Scholarship, making financial donations to various college departments or groups and promoting the college through our community activities.

Upcoming Events:
Wednesday, October 17 at 12:30 p.m. – Capital District Chapter’s Fall Lunch at The Waters Edge Lighthouse, Glenville
Sunday, November 18 at 11:30 a.m. – Pre-Holiday Brunch & Gift Swap at Treviso Restaurant at the Italian American Community Center Albany

Call Sharon Kiniry at 518-395-9443 for more information or to RSVP for the events.

Current Capital District Chapter Officers:

  • President: Kathy Kieffer ’84, G’89, CAS’02
  • First Vice-President: Sharon Kiniry ’84
  • Second Vice-President: Gerald Boileau G’75
  • Secretary: Helen Russo ’84
  • Treasurer: John Wemple ’61
  • Directors: Heleen Knapp ’65, Joanne Martin ’84, G’91, Cheryl Schimmel ’84 and Georgia Sullivan ’77