Skip to Main Content
Best in Show ADDY entry by Sofia Shaul

Best in Show ADDY entry by Sofia Shaul

Students at the Center for Art & Design recently came up big winners at the Capital Region Advertising Federation’s ADDY Awards, held virtually on March 5. The center submitted 52 entries in the student category and won 24 gold or silver awards. The awards “recognize and reward the creative spirit of excellence in advertising.” This local phase is the first in a three-tier national competition.

In addition to the large haul of gold or silver awards, Sofia Shaul, a junior graphic design major, won Best in Show for gadget packaging; Griffin Bengraff, a senior design media arts student was named a runner-up Best in Show for UX app; and Rodman Rogers, a junior interdepartmental studies major, earned runner-up Best in Show for an illustrated poetry book.

“The Saint Rose graphic design students created some exceptional work, much of which was produced last spring while college classes were totally remote,” said Ann Breaznell, associate professor of graphic design. “The seven gold award entries in the student category advance automatically to the regional ADDY competition. It is also gratifying that our esteemed design alumni continue to succeed in this highly regarded, competitive arena.”

The judges were from various regions of the country, including North Carolina, California, and Michigan. Several alumni of the BFA in Graphic Design program also earned awards, including Esther Jewett, Anne Lin, J Walker, Farrah Mills, Karli Pawlak, and Mary Ellen Schwarz.

The following students earned either gold or silver awards for their work:


Griffin Bengraff, App category (UX app) also runner-up Best in Show
Hannah Jackson, integrated brand campaign category (nonprofit logo and system)
Henry Jamin, book design category (poetry book)
Meghan O’Brien, packaging category (gadget packaging)
Sofia Shaul, point-of-purchase category (gadget packaging and display) also won Best in Show and Judge’s Pick; printed brochure category (newsletter)
Meghan Tomisman, mag ad campaign category (nonprofit ads) also Judge’s Pick


Yousef Abdelmagid, stationery category (nonprofit stationery); printed brochure category (nonprofit brochure); integrated brand campaign category (nonprofit logo and system) also Judge’s Pick; and single illustration category (handmade type)
Taylor Bock, integrated brand campaign category (restaurant branding system)
Maggie Burak, point-of-purchase category (gadget packaging and display)
Abi Garrand, point-of-purchase category (gadget packaging and display); cover/ed spread category (book covers)
Hannah Jackson, illustration campaign category (handmade type)
Henry Jamin, animation category (COVID project)
Matt Law, animation category (handmade type)
Brian Maiello, cover/ed spread category (book covers)
Rodman Rogers, illustration campaign category (poetry book) also runner-up Best in Show
Kaylee Sterns, poster campaign category (nonprofit posters); photography campaign category (handmade type)
Meghan Tomisman, website category (nonprofit website)
Hannah Willging, stationery category (personal letterhead, resume, business card)

Gold award winners will advance automatically to the district-level competition, the next step before nationals.